My plane lands in Botswana

“Every day, in every way, I am getting better and better”…. I remind myself of Emilie Crou’s quote as I gaze outside my airplane window.  The rising sun seems to encourage me as its light peaks over the distant horizon. Soon I would arrive in Botswana, Africa to practice chiropractic at the Mahalaype Hospital and Shoshong Clinic.
“Every Day, In Every Way, I Am Getting Better and Better”…. My goal is to spread this message…… to my patients and their families, to other health practitioners, and governmental leaders, not only in Mahalaype and Shoshong, but all around the world.

But why………..
Musculoskeletal and Spinal disorders are the leading causes of debilitating and chronic health pro
blems in developing countries. As the statistics continue to rise, the healthcare systems in such rural areas are unprepared to address these conditions. Lack of comprehensive models of care and protocols to address spinal conditions only complicates the situation for these communities. Already an advocate for integrative spinal healthcare, World Spine Care provided an evidence based, multidisciplinary approach to chiropractic care that immediately caught my attention. For three years I watched the World Spine Care grow, staying in close contact with the organization and pushing to get involved. After graduating in December, World Spine Care offered the incredible volunteer opportunity to provide chiropractic care within the Mahalaype Hospital while assisting in the opening of the Shoshong Clinic. Inspired by the opportunity to become a pioneer in establishing evidence-based, integrative spinal and musculoskeletal care, I packed my bags for a two month stay in Botswana and off I went.
Now, with a loud thud and rough jolt, my plane has safely landed in Botswana….and here my journey begins…..“EVERY DAY, IN EVERY WAY, I AM GETTING BETTER AND BETTER”
Leave a Reply

